Con Report: MGA Con 2017

Yet another convention is in the books. This time it was MGACon, and my third time tabling there. As usual, I had a great time and sold enough books. I even bought some prints and a t-shirt for my kid. That’s how well it worked out. So all that’s left is to give you the broad strokes:

 

20170219_103445

My table was positioned in the Artist Alley, across from a character designer for one of my favorite shows, Archer. Next to me was a guy who could draw the shit out of Scooby Doo and across the aisle was a quiet guy who drew Sonic the Hedgehog.

 

20170219_121705

Lots of Stormtroopers, as usual. This guy had a backpack full of brains. I understand that it’s mean to be his exposed spinal column, but I like the idea of a backpack full of brains. There were also a lot of Harley Quinns, but one woman was REALLY accurate. I declined to take her picture because she was too beautiful. You’ll have to take my word for it. Unrelated to her, there was a guy dressed as Heath Ledger Joker (always a few of those, too) and he looked bored as hell and kind of sad. Totally not having fun even though he’s dressed up as such a charismatic character. It was weird, but also strangely funny. I didn’t get his picture, either.

 

20170217_200959

And that was the con, folks. Pretty run-of-the-mill. These days I’ve gotten used to doing cons, and I’m planning to do more. Hearing all the comic and cartoon artists talk about all the cons they go to made me hungry for more. This was only my second con of 2017 and I have THREE more in the works, not including BizarroCon in November. I’ll probably need more of these snazzy business cards.

20170213_181911

Leave a Reply

